Diet Tips – What to Know About Gluten Intolerance

    Published: 06-16-2009
    Views: 12,993
    Healthy food author and Diana Mirkin breaks down what you should know about gluten intolerance.

    Diana Mirkin

    Diana Mirkin has taught thousands of people how to make healthful foods taste delicious. She is co-author of four books with her husband, Dr. Gabe Mirkin: The Healthy Heart Miracle; The Good Food Book; The 20/30 Fat and Fiber Diet Plan; and Fat Free, Flavor Full. Each of these books includes 100 or more of her recipes featuring whole grains, beans, vegetables and fruits. For many years Diana co-hosted The Dr. Gabe Mirkin Show, a syndicated radio show taking call-in questions on health, nutrition and fitness. Although the show is not in production at this time, it is still widely aired via their web site, . She co-writes their weekly newspaper column, eZine, and blog covering the same topics. Diana is a graduate of Vassar College and has an MBA from Loyola College. When she's not writing or inventing tasty new recipes, she's usually out riding her bicycle, gardening or exercising her dogs.

    Im Diana Mirkin, and I would like to talk to you briefly about gluten intolerance. Some people have been told that they need to avoid wheat and wheat products because they have gluten intolerance or celiac disease. This is not a common condition, but if you have it, you dont ever want to eat wheat or any wheat products. There are also some other whole grains that you need to avoid. You need to avoid barley, you need to avoid rye, and you probably need to avoid oats, not because there is gluten in oats, but because oats are usually processed in the same plants that process wheat and barley. These are the grains that you need to avoid if your doctor has told you that you have gluten intolerance. There are still lots of whole grains that you can eat though. All of the rices are fine for people with gluten intolerance. So, all of the various types of brown rice are fine, wild rice is fine, and the little birdseed shaped grains like quinoa or millet or amaranth or teft are fine for people who have gluten intolerance. Now, if you are not sure whether you are gluten intolerant or if you have read some place that its not a good idea for people to eat grains, check with your doctor, this is something that can be done very easily with a test to see if you truly are gluten intolerant. If you just have been told that people should avoid grains, think again, usually what that means is that you should avoid ground up grains; flour is the great constipator, it can cause Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Products made with flour sometimes irritate you, and when you stop them you will feel better, but that doesnt mean that you have to avoid the whole grains. Again, if you have a concern about health issues involving grains, check with your doctor or health care provider for your specific diagnosis.